Let’s Have a Chat

The sun is rising behind the those across the street. Believe it or not, that sun, which brings light and life to us, will still rise after tomorrow’s election.

I know. I know. Half of the people will believe that a dark, horrendous, doomsday cloud is going to sweep in tomorrow, no matter which candidate wins. And yes, we could all take to our beds, cover our heads, roll up into a ball and stew with anger and resentment over what these two have put us through.

Trust me. I have had my share of the vapors throughout this never–ending election cycle.

Yes, the climate in our country is angry, mistrustful, loopy, insane, ticked-off, cataplectic, and did I say, angry? Oh, I forgot … scared.

But … and here is the big butt … no matter which candidate takes office, the sun that I watch in the mornings, from my office window, will still rise every morning. Most of the time I will see it, somedays, not as much, because clouds will come. They always come in our lives.

So what do I intend to do after this election? Besides scour the pollution off of my soul?

I intend to get on with my life.

And I hope you do, too.

Why? How can I be cavalier about this?

I am not.

But there is only so much good or bad or stewing that I can do before it begins txobreak down the fiber of who I am, what I want out of my life, and why I have been put on this earth.

There are also things I cannot change.

Therefore, I have a choice, and you do, too.

We can all declare we have post-traumatic stress disorder, due to this election, and call in sick to our lives, or we can suck whatever this decision is, up, and do our best to continue to do what we do best, which is, continue to change this world, one smile, one act of graciousness, one kind word … one person at a time.

I doubt that if anyone of us put out a notice that we were going to hold a rally in the town hall, that we would gather crowds like these candidates have. We don’t have that forum. But, we do have the people in our lives and the people we meet. And those are the people that matter. They are the ones whose lives we can affect.

We don’t need to know who each other voted for. We don’t need to judge someone’s intelligence by that. Isn’t being bigger than that a better way to go?

I will never really know or understand where another person is coming from. Good gardenias, I have a difficult enough time understanding how I got to be where I am. So, to judge another and alienate people in my life because they see things differently, is counterproductive to what I try to do.

Have I done all of the things I have just said not to do? Oh, my Golden Gate Bridge, yes.

But that says more about me than it does about them. Everyone is entitled to cast their vote for who they see fit.

And that is where it stands for me, today, this day before the election.

Me, I will cast my ballot tomorrow, and then be on the road to recovery.

Trust me, all though we vote tomorrow,or you might have already voted, this election and what has happened in this last year or so, is not over. But those who want to continue to spew vitriol, brandish, maim and destroy each other in the name of being right, can do there thing,

I will simply not participate.

My life has a defined number of days left. I don’t know what that number is, but I know that I am not going to spend my time in turmoil because of what is, was or will be.

A hot bath will delight me. A good cup of tea will calm me. A laugh will sustain me. Getting to know God better is much better than getting to know any more about Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump. And the sun will continue to rise and bring us new hope, everyday.

So, it is with great joy that I will face whatever is to be, tomorrow, the day after and the day after that. If I have to, in my own way, create my own bubble to live in, one where goodness reigns and life is worthwhile, so be it.

There is something much bigger than this election. It is who we are, what we are, with our ability to love, overcome and live a life that is rewarding, fulfilling and giving.

Susan

Leave a Reply

