Operation … Health

The pre-op is finished. It was easy.
 
Finding the hospital, well, not so much.
 
You know about hospitals, don’t you? Some are in one building and others are like college campuses.
 
And when you are relatively new to a town, at least the hospital circuit, you can go a tad loopy trying to find the right building and parking space.
 
Nick and I were like the Two Stooges yesterday as we circled and circled buildings. We’d stop and ask directions and go to one place, only to be told that we needed to go to another.
 
Finally, Nick dropped me off, (again), and I went in and the nicest woman walked me outside and pointed which direction I needed to go.
 
By then, Nick was off to find a parking space. I called him and told him we were at the wrong place, but I was going to walk to the correct place.
 
So, that is what I did.
 
My walking has paid off in that it was a breeze of a walk. It felt good to be actually walking somewhere, instead of the circles that I usually go in.
 
The waiting room in pre-op was crowded.
 
The receptionist was nice and I sat and waited, hoping Nick could find me.
 
Eventually, he came in.
 
I love most every medical professional I have ever met. Oh, I didn’t like my gastroenterologist in Cincinnati. He had the personality of , well, I was going to say, a turd. But other than that, I have been buoyed by kindness and care.
 
When I was called, as usual, the first stop is the scale.
 
Ugh.
 
I would have preferred to say a stronger word, but I am restraining myself.
 
I made my standard stupid jokes as I stepped on it. And you know what? I have lost weight … about 20 pounds.
 
If you attribute about 45 pounds to my shoes and clothes, hey, I am moving along.
 
I am not weighing myself. I can tell by clothes and how I feel. When I weigh myself, I am too concerned with the numbers and it isn’t good or healthy for me. I only know I lost about 20 pounds because they weighed me at the surgeon’s.
 
It has been 35 days or so and I have not fallen into the apple pie. I have been very thoughtful about what I have been eating, and enjoying it … for the most part.
 
I was taken into a room where I met with a parade of people. The first woman in did the ekg. We had a such a good chat that I didn’t realize the test had taken place. She said that together, she and I would be big trouble.
 
One after another the people from different departments came in, each as nice as they could be.
 
Lastly, I was sent down the hall to have my blood taken. My first man of the day.
 
We laughed and carried on until we had to be still for the needle to be inserted.
 
After that, we were on our way.
 
Oh, the one woman said she thought I was more her age … she is 8 years younger than myself. I gave her a big hug as she was leaving the room.
 
In the afternoon, I made a mistake. A stupid mistake.
 
I got on YouTube and watched gall bladder surgeries and then looked at a couple of videos put on by people who have had gall bladder surgeries. Of course, they were in pain, looking miserable and yada, yada.
 
One woman lifted her shirt to show the four bandaged incisions.
 
It dawned on me, nobody who does fine makes a video. Duh.
 
So … November 1, I will get some good drugs and pray for the rest.
And I am grateful that it is just my gall bladder that I am dealing with. So many people are dealing with much more serious surgeries and illnesses. I thought of that as I sat in the waiting room.
 
Oh, last evening, before coming home to watch the debate, I went to an 8th grade football game. Our neighbor is on the team. I went with his mom, who has become a good friend.
 
It was at the Clover stadium, which is really nice. It was a gorgeous evening. The lights shone over the field, cheerleaders with hair bows the size of helicopter propellers, did their cheers … kids ignored the game and gathered and yakked and danced and carried on and our team got a whooping. A drum corp kept beat.
 
The good news was that my neighbor who played, made a great tackle right in front of us.
 
While sitting in the stadium, I couldn’t help but think about my days at Norwood. I looked at the yard lines and recalled how we used them to figure out where we should be. I thought of the many, many games we had been to while watching our kids. For years, I had a permanent case of bleacher butt.
 
I looked at the clear sky and it was magical. Here i was In a stadium in Clover, South Carolina. Who would have ever thought that would be?
 
My month of magical thinking is fun. I have found magic in each day, so far. Not huge things … sometimes it has been the kind voice of strangers, or a friend. It has been the clean air that I have breathed. The gift of working for my body, instead of against it.
 
Life is such a mind game, isn’t it?
 
I hope you find your own magical moments today and everyday. God and magical moments sustain me. Maybe it is because I see God in the magical moments, messages that say,, “You are not alone. I am always with you and there are some wonderful people in your life.”
 
So … I will get along now. There is work to be done, places to go and people to meet. And magical moments to discover.
 
Susan

4 Comments Add yours

  1. finleybg2015 says:

    The last thing I remember before going under for my gallbladder surgery was looking at my very short surgeon, and asking if he was on a stepstool. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      You are too funny!

      Like

  2. lulu says:

    From hospital to football game is quite a transition, and it seems you found positive in both.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      Haha! Yes, it was. Go figure!

      Susan

      Like

Leave a Reply

