Sunny Sunday in Clover

I am reading the book, “Grain Brain,” that the surgeon recommended.

At the visit, I told her how cruddy I felt, supposedly, because of my bad gall bladder. (Who named that organ?)

She sat and listened and smiled, and probably thought wow, this chick is a mess.

I told her how tired I was, nauseous, lethargic and just felt like, ugh.

I was sure this was all from gall bladder. I’d done what most of us do when we find out we have something. I went to every website I could find and read about low-functioning gall bladders.

Not only did I go to the Mayo Clinic website and Webmd, but I hit the ones where people ask questions. I guess they are forums.

I have no clue about the man or woman behind the curtains on those things, but by the time I finished reading several of them, I thought, oh, hell, I might as well shoot myself. Good gravy, or, I should say, good gluten, I came away with every symptom that I read.

img_8577
Two egg and lots of veggies omelette

By the time I walked into the surgeon’s office, after reading that stuff, and continuing to medicate myself with flour and sugar stuff, I wanted her to cut me ope right there and then and get that gall bladder out of me.

But that is not what happened. Yes, my gall bladder is malfunctioning, but, as the kind surgeon gently pointed out, she didn’t think all of my symptoms were caused by the gall bladder. The young resident had already told me I had a “fatty liver,” so I was in a tailspin. The resident was young and I am sure that I looked like I wanted to chew on his leg after he told me my liver was fatty.

But the surgeon mentioned nutrition and diet in such a way that I knew she was being helpful and not judgmental.

 

She told me that reading the book “Grain Brain,” changed her life. She had been tired and not feeling all that well. So she suggested I read that.

I made sure that I didn’t cry at the appointment, even though I felt like a big gorf.

As I sat there, I couldn’t help but think about when I was young and thin, but still self-conscious, I would see a heavy person walking down by and then ask my friends, “Am I fatter than that person?”

Self-image. What a thing.

When I get nervous, which I tend to do at the doctors, I chatter. That led to us talking about how stressful “dieting” can be and how confusing it is to know what is the right approach?

Do I eat fruit or is fruit verboten? Is meat good or is it bad? Is fat good or bad? What about wheat and gluten? What about sex?

Just thought I’d throw that in there.

She agreed. She also said that I would feel much better by changing my diet and because of what my background is, she thought ridding gluten from my diet would be a good start. She also said that she followed this book’s advice and she felt a lot better.

I downloaded that book while the nurse asked me when I wanted to schedule my gall bladder’s excursion from my body.

The ride home was long. Lots of thoughts went through my mind, one being that I hope it is not too late to get healthy. img_8586

That afternoon, still shaken and upset about what I had done to myself, I continued reading the book. I worked on my mindset and said, “Ok, chickipoo, it’s up to you. You can do this.”

There are moments when I have looked at my age, 64.5, and wondered why try? Just do what you want until you die.

The problem with that attitude is that you don’t necessarily just drop dead, quickly. You die piece by piece, organ by organ. And if I have a choice, I would prefer it doesn’t happen that way. I know that only God knows the outcome, but He did give me the ability to make some better choices.

So, I am on day 3.

Because I have allergies and have had intestinal issues at some points in my life, I am working on eliminating gluten, to see if that helps. Also, bye-bye to most sugars.

What I want to do is eat very few processed foods. The book I am reading believes our body needs cholesterol and fat for the brain to function. Restricting carbohydrates has to do with insulin production and how the body handles them.

Obviously, I am not a doctor and I am not recommending that you do what I am doing. I am simply putting it on the table. I’d suggest you read it for yourself, or talk to a nutritionist, to see what is good for you. I am trying to open the door to discussion and to get others to think and believe.

I know I am not alone in my struggle.

I am going to post my latest photo, one that, when I look at it, I wonder, “Who is that women? She seems to have eaten Susan.”

It isn’t a picture of the Susan I would like to be.

But, I am alive and can change.

And so are you.

Keep the faith … and get out and walk. Take a picture while on your walk and post it. I am.

Susan

img_8500
Lunch on the porch before we started eating healthier

Leave a Reply

