A Southern Saturday Morning

It was a hot time at Ebenezer’s Grill, this morning. The parking lot was crowded. There were a few old, restored cars there. Beauties, they were. Shiny chrome and paint colors that were shear joy.
 
Out front, there were two old cars with a few old men standing by them.
 
Well, that was rude, but the sentence was fun. They weren’t old, old, and “old” is certainly relative at this stage. But they were, shall we say, “mature.”
 
We sat at the counter, which is where we like to sit. I decided to eat better today. Lord help me. I ordered two eggs over hard and bacon. Breakfast is apparently the “low carb” diet. Lunch might be “Weight Watchers” and dinner might be “Oh, the hell with it,” diet.
 
Simply put … I like to eat.
 
But onward.
 
Nick got the special. Sausage gravy over a fluffed biscuit, two scrambled eggs, that they put cheese in. I guess someone in the kitchen had a handful of cheese and thought, oh well. He had sausage patties, too. Oh, I got fresh tomato slices with mine. I ave seen many people do that down here, so I thought I would try it. It was good.

 
Most of the tables were full of chitter-chatterers. It is so much fun to listen and chat. The woman next to me is going to Mexico in September. And the woman who works the counter, just returned from 4 days in Charleston. That is a weekend getaway for people from these parts.
 
The man seated next to Nick was a national champion fisherman. Once I found that out, I told Nick I had to switch seats and get the story. Nick is used to that and handles it well.
 
The man’s name is Bill. He won the championship years ago. He was a “King Mackerel” champion.
 
Bill’s now 68 and complaining about the state of the election, like many people. He wishes people would wake up. He has seen good times when money was at his fingertips and then now, when Social Security is the basis for things.
 
I asked him how far out he fished.IMG_8058
 
“I liked to go about 30-70 miles out. Blue water,” he said.
 
“How long did it take you to get out that far?” I said.
 
“Not that long. My boat went 57 mph. That’s pretty fast on water.”
 
“Were you ever scared or in bad weather?”
 
“All the time. tournaments went on in all sorts of weather. One time the waves were 13 ft. and water was up to our knees in the boat.”
 
He said they caught all of the fish first and then worried about getting the water out of the boat.
 
Oh, he used 4-pound bait.
 
We walked out of Ebenezers with Bill. He, like every boy or man I have met here, held the door open for me.
 
Who knows if we will see Bill again, but he etched his mark on Nick and my lives.
 
Then it was off on the backroads to pick up our two chairs from Rhynes.
 
I had planned to put both in the living room, but when we got them out of the car and into the house, I tried one out as a desk chair in my office, and I think it is going to work mighty fine. It is over a hundred years old. If that isn’t a story for a writer, I don’t know what is.
 
We are pretty much in for the day as it is hotter than a radiator in a dessert Taxi.
 
I have some chicken breasts soaking in buttermilk and I am going to make some Southern Fried Chicken for dinner. Oh, and Brussel sports. I guess those are the diet portion of the meal.
 
I am also thawing some South Carolina peaches I froze about a month ago. I am thinking Bellinis.
 
And a nap. It’s a good day for a nap. I think it is a week or so away from college football, when we will start rooting for Clemson. So, I have time to get my baton out and practice twirling.
 
Susan

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Judy says:

    Beauty all around—cars, chairs, pillows, people, and food.

    Like

  2. finleybg2015 says:

    Love the small town cafes, the chairs (I’d say you really got a bargain there), the pillows, the food. If my Nick had been there, we’d still be talking fishing with Bill.

    Like

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      I bet you would still be there, except, they are closed on Sunday.
      The chairs were $5.00 each. $285.00 to restore both of them. So that makes the cost about !47.00 each. I’ll take it.

      Like

  3. finleybg2015 says:

    And I forgot the cool cars!

    Like

  4. Teresa Donley says:

    What lovely old cars. And what a beautiful morning for you and Nick. The small town cafes are the best! We’ve been discovering a few around here. Today, we went to one that was Mexican. It had a bar, and about five booths and two tables. The food was great.

    I love your chairs. They’re beautiful, and interesting with history. Your house is so colorful and pretty. It makes me happy.

    Like

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      Thank you, Teresa. It is fun to get out and explore and see real people. You are now on your big adventure. I am so glad you have found a job you are meant to do. You will be terrific.
      Cheers,

      Susan

      Like

  5. ingakimple says:

    I keep trying to post, but problems. Anyway, she was there when I was. Tell me again her maiden name and where she lived. When I am out at W-K Rd. I wonder if you are there also….

    Like

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      Your post came through. Her maiden name was Hipkins. She was there from 66-70.

      Like

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      Thank you! Appreciate you reading and taking the time to respond.

      Susan

      Like

Leave a Reply

