Love Inspires Me

That is all there is to it.
 
At least, this morning.
 
Ill-will and pettiness kill the heart and the head and corrupt the energy that I can use to create.
 
That isn’t saying that they don’t creep in. Sweet mother of Monopoly, they do. Human “feelings” like to take over, like Kudzu, so that is why it is so important to be aware of what is going on in your head and heart.
 
And then, take action!
 
I have learned that just because a certain “feeling” comes knocking at my door and sometimes, doesn’t even bother to knock, I don’t have to invite it to tea and have it take up residence in my craw.
 
It isn’t that I totally ignore it. That would be disrespectful. I might ask myself why I feel this way and if I can sort out an answer, I can address it. If not, I carry on. The feeling is not allowed to drag me around.
 
Feelings? I just can’t trust them to inspire.
 
But love?
 
Oh, yes.
 
I have a dear friend who lost a son. He was in his early twenties when he died. I remember her saying to me one time, “Don’t love anything that can’t love you back.”
 
That helped me when we were down-sizing our house and getting rid of “things.” Many of the things had connections to memories. But a memory is a memory. Is it really the “thing?”
 
I was able to use what she said to lighten our material load. What I learned is that it also lightened our emotional load.
 
It allowed me to reinvent our lives. It inspired me to not rely on possessions to “make me happy.”
 
Here is part of the caveat. When we gave our things away, a lot of it to our kids and people we know, I told them that if they tired of it or didn’t need it, feel FREE to get rid of it. Only take it if it will enrich their lives … not be a burden.
 
I have several friends, and this happened to us, whose parents told them, “Don’t ever get rid of this piece of furniture. It was your great, great Poobah’s aunts.”
 
And that whatever it is, become an albatross in someone else’s home and int heir heart and psyche. It is changing that person to YOUR memories and expectations.
 
I believe the best gift we can give to another person, an inspiration in a sense, is to fly free. Learn to be your and travel light.
 
The more restrictions, guilt and pressure we put on people, especially our loved ones, causes them emotional discomfort.
 
Yes, there are some things I have that mean something to me. But for the most part, although I “love” my house and what we have put together, I am inspired by time and nature and life, and I can start over. And starting over can be good. I carry treasures in my heart … to in a U Haul.
 
And that, my friends, inspires me.
 
Love, Live, Create
 
Love,
 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Teresa says:

    Wonderful advice!

    Like

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      Thank you, Teresa.

      Like

Leave a Reply

