The Best Blueberry Bites

I have fallen in love with South Carolina Blueberries from the Bush and Vine.

One of the wonderful parts about moving to Clover, SC, is that we live near several farm markets.

The “Bush and Vine” is one of them.

I know blueberries are supposed to be full of the miracle, “antioxidants” but the truth is, the only thing blueberries had going for them is that they are blue. The ones I had eaten in Ohio never had any flavor. Not that there aren’t any good ones in Ohio, but I certainly didn’t find them at the grocery store. IMG_7131

So, when I bought blueberries at the “Bush and Vine,” Nick and I were skeptical. They were pretty, but would thy have any flavor?

Holy moly! For once, the blueberries tasted like what we thought a blueberry should taste.

We even ate them plain.

I had a couple of cups of blueberries in the fridge that I wanted to use. So, I decided to make blueberry muffins.

I did as I often do, go to Pinterest, to look up some blueberry muffin recipes. I found one for “Blueberry Cream Cheese Muffins.”

There was a tiny glitch. When we moved, I gave away my cupcake pans, which also doubles as muffin tins. I did bring along one mini-muffin tin and one large muffin tin.

I opted to use the mini-muffin tins and make “Blueberry Bites.”

One of the nice features about making mini muffins is that I like to give food away to our new neighbors. But making a batch for each house is cumbersome. But if I can just take a coulee of servings to the neighbors, one for each person in the house, I can make my baking enjoyed by more people.

The recipe involved making topping, the blueberry batter and the cream cheese mixture inside. The best part was how the body of the mix was put together. Everything was put into the mixer and beat together, except the flour, which you put in at the end … by stirring. I folded the flour in so that I didn’t over-mix. I have watched enough cooking shows to know that over-mixing causes tough dough.

It took me a bit of time to put the muffins in the tiny muffin tins. I didn’t have any muffin pairs, so I put a lot of cooking spray in each one. Blueberries can stick if you aren’t careful … just as my waffle maker!IMG_7129

 

First, a dollop of muffin mixtureThen a dab of cream cheese mix, another dollop of muffin mixture and then a spoonful of topping.

I had to figure out the baking time because the recipe didn’t do the minis. I kept looking at them and kept adding time. The time ended up being about 25 minutes, but that is something you would have to figure out. Our over bakes a bit slow.

I let them set for about ten minutes before I took a fork and went around the edge a tad and pulled them out.

They all stayed in tact!

Oh my good garters, they sere not just delicious. They were scrumptious!

A couple of hours later, I divided them and put them in small bowls lined with a napkin.

About five minutes after my first delivery, I received a text. “OMG! Those muffins were awesome!!!”

Success.

I took muffins to three more neighbors, and saved a few for Nick and I.

Food, like so many other things is best when shared.

I can’t change the world, but I can take care of our neighbors.

Susan

Blueberry Cream Cheese Muffins

 

Copyright 2016 Susan Hipkins DeBow. All Rights Reserved.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sandra Ingram says:

    This is funny, I am presently baking a blueberry muffin to share with my neighbors also. What a coincidence.

    Like

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      Hi Sandra,
      That is quite a coincidence. What recipe are you using?

      Like

Leave a Reply

