Why I Write

It wasn’t always like this, not when I first started writing.

I’d hem and haw and clear my throat. The word, “writer” stuck in my throat. It wasn’t like I had destined to be a writer from a young age. It is something that I became to help me sort out life, to find my voice, and eventually, to give voice to others.

For the most part, I am an observer or life. Yes, I participate in life, too, but if you’d ask me whether, when with a group of people, whether I would rather talk, or listen, I’d say I’d rather listen and observe.

Not everything is learned from listening, either. Observation plays a key role. What are the surroundings, the temperature, the emotional atmosphere of a place? Of a person? those are things I am intrigued by.

I have been written a bit over twenty years now. I write like I breath. Writing makes me think, have opinions, understand and connect. One of the biggest goals and joys that I have as a writer, are helping people realize that they are not alone. We all have strange thoughts, experiences, make poor decisions and stumble. But when we share these things with others, we tend to laugh and console and form a community. And that is why I write.

Writing can be very isolating unless you write for community. “My South Carolina Life” has become just that.

I welcome you to read, comment and enjoy. We all pride ourselves in being kind, respectful and understanding with our comments. Life is hard enough. We don’t need to make people feel less than. Uplift, relate and unwind.

Thank you for reading.

Susan

Copyright 2016 Susan Hipkins DeBow. All Rights Reserved.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Gloria Manning Howell says:

    I sure ENJOY the way you “breathe”. I feel very lucky to be part of your community. I don’t respond to many of your posts in writing, but I am always composing a response in my head. I need an app that writes down my thoughts. (or maybe not). Wouldn’t it be awful to have everything you think come out unedited in print. But you do make think! Please keep doing what you do. I treasure every post. I would be very lonely without them. Thank you for the snits, the art, the personal views, the photography, sharing Nick and Winston with all of us.

    Like

    1. Susan DeBow says:

      Thank you, Gloria. I love writing and creating a community of fun, interesting, kind, people. You are wonderful to have with us. YOU are the reason I love to write. You always have good comments, too! Clover … Susan

      Like

Leave a Reply

